Skip to main content

Harry's Jewelry

The art of Elegance
Engagement Rings
Gemstone Rings
Wedding Bands
Tennis Bracelets
Men's Bracelets
Cash For Gold
Our Services
Diamond Education
Jewelry Care
About Us
Contact Us

  Diamond Education              

  The 4C's                                           

Every diamond has unique characteristics. Until the middle of the 20th century, there wasn't any standard that could identify the different qualities in a diamond. By the 1950's GIA (Gemological Institute of America) created an international system of grading diamonds, describing a diamond by its carat weight, color, clarity & cut. Today, the 4C's are recognized around the world as a way to asses the properties of a diamond.

Carat Weight

Diamonds are measured by their weight. A 1 carat diamond is equal to 1/5 of a gram & is subdivided into 100 points, therefore a 1 carat diamond is equal to 100 points, or a 1/2 carat diamond is equal to 0.50Ct.The larger a diamond is, the more it weighs & the more it is desirable & rare.
Carat weight is not the only property that determines the price of a diamond, however the combination of all 4C's  would give its value.


Every diamond has a certain color. Rare are those that are completely colorless, or without any hue, therefore higher in value.Diamond color is graded on a scale from D to Z. D being colorless to Z being yellow.
When a diamond is graded for color, it is compared next to a master stone color scale. The difference between one color & another (from one letter on the scale & another) is extremely subtle, however the value can be higher or lower depending on how white or yellow a diamond is.


Diamonds are made of pure carbon, & are the result of tremendous heat & pressure from deep underground. As a result of this pressure, a diamond can have several characteristics within it, such as inclusions, flaws, blemishes, etc.
A flawless diamond is very rare & expensive. A scale has been developed identifying the type, size & location of flaws.
All diamonds are examined under a 10x magnification.

  • FL (Flawless)
              No flaws & blemishes visible under magnification.

  • IF (Internally flawless)
              No flaws visible under magnification.

  • VVS1 & VVS2 (very very slight inclusions)
              Difficult to see flaws under magnification.

  • VS! & VS2 (very slight inclusions)
              Very minor flaws are seen under magnification.

  • Si1 & Si2 (small inclusions)
              small flaws are seen under magnification.

  • I1, I2 & I3
             Obvious flaws can be seen even without magnification.

Diamond Cut

What gives a diamond its brilliance & beauty is its cut. A diamond is cut sometimes thick or thin, or a proper cut.
The ideal or proper cut of a diamond is determined by certain proportions, symmetry, & polish that the facets of a diamond have to have, in order to give it its maximum brilliance, therefore increasing its value. As you can see in the diagram above, only a properly or ideal cut diamond will reflect light to its maximum ability & give it the brilliance & beauty. A shallow or deep cut diamond is not as brilliant, & therefore not as valuable as an ideal cut diamond.

All of these combinations of Carat Weight, Color, Clarity, & Cut makes up the value in a diamond.
It is important while shopping for diamonds to understand these features, & ask questions to the sales person to clarify & explain about the diamonds that the jewelry you are intending to buy.